homeabout uscontact usmedia / press
left hand navigation

Sexual Education Resources

**Note: This page in no way represents an endorsement by The Talk Institute of the following websites. It is merely a compilation of currently available websites on sexuality that parents and their children may find helpful. Parents should preview sites for age appropriateness before allowing their child to view the listed sites.

Sites For Parents (To keep you up to date)

The National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy (www.teenpregnancy.org)

Children Now and Kaiser Family Foundation (www.talkingwithkids.org)

Sex Information and Education Council of the United States (www.siecus.org) - statistics and resources for educators and families

Kids Health (www.kidshealth.org/parent) - provides general medical info on children’s health issues

Kaiser Family Foundation (www.itsyoursexlife.com) - (888) BE SAFE-1

Advocates for Youth (www.advocatesforyouth.org)

National PTA website to order copy Talking With Kids: A Parent’s Guide To Sex Education (http://www.pta.org/parentinvolvement/healthsafety)

Advocates for Youth (http://www.advocatesforyouth.org/parents/) - parent tips on how to talk about sex

Siecus report on parent/child communication programs (http://www.familiesaretalking.org/)

Heathly Teen Network (http://www.healthyteennetwork.org/) - National Org. for Adolescent Pregnancy, Parenting, & Prevention

RAINN (http://www.rainn.org/)information and resources on sexual assault

American Medical Women’s Association

Obstetrics and Gynecology (www.obgyn.net)

Sexual Health Network (http://www.sexualhealth.com/) - easy access to sexuality information for people with disabilities.

Kaiser Daily Reproductive Health Reports (http://www.kaisernetwork.org/)

Resource Center for Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention (http://www.etr.org/)

Alan Guttmacher Institute (http://www.guttmacher.org/)– sex education research

Center for Disease Control (http://www.cdc.gov/)

Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance (http://www.cdc.gov/epo/mmwr/preview/mmwrhtml/00049859.htm)

Child Trends (http://www.childtrends.org/)- statistics and data on what prevention programs work with children

California Teen Health (http://www.californiateenhealth.org/) - local adolescent health data, public policy

Sites For Young People

iVillage Gurl (http://www.gurl.com/)

4 Girls Health (http://4girls.gov/) -by the Department of Health Services

The National Campaign (http://www.teenpregnancy.org/) - to Prevent Teen Pregnancy

Teen Wire (http://www.teenwire.com/) Planned Parenthood’s teen site

Advocates for Youth (http://www.advocatesforyouth.org/)

It's Your Sex Life (www.itsyoursexlife.com) -Kaiser Family Foundation (888) BE SAFE-1

I Wanna Know (http://www.iwannaknow.org/) teen site for the American Social Health Association

Sex Etc. (http://www.sexetc.org/) - sexuality information for teens by teens operated by he Network for Family Life Education also provides info for professionals

Girls Circle Association (http://www.girlscircle.com/)

Girls incorporated (http://www.girlsinc.org/)

course programs hosting a class articles resources